Things are Always working out for you!

I found this quote tonight and I have to share it with you.

“Your journey has molded you for your greater good and it was exactly what it needed to be. Don’t think that you’ve lost time. It took each and every situation you have encountered to bring you to the now. And Now is right on time.”

 I’m not sure who said it but I do know that it is perfect for me.

 It is very similar to a wonderful saying that my Grandma Linebaugh always said,”It all works out in the end. If it’s not worked out…it’s not the end.”

I’m not sure if she came up with that bit at the end or not, but I’m gonna give her the credit. 

It’s so easy for me, maybe for you too to get caught up in the hectic crazy making of what is now our everyday lives. We have instant everything. Instant email instant breaking news, instant food…instant drama.

There is a lot to be said about waiting. 

Back in the “old days” you didn’t have a choice you just waited, it’s just what you did. And you found a way to get on with your life in the mean time.

Want an answer to a question from someone that doesn’t live near you. Well back then you wrote a letter , sent it and then…waited. Want chicken for dinner? Grandma had to go out and catch it first and in the mean time, you waited.  

Want to go to town and buy a new dress or suit? You got the horses out and hitched up the buggy climbed in and… waited while the horses carried you to town.

Now I’m not saying that we should go back to the “old days”. I once asked my Grandma Linebaugh, “Grandma, do you miss the good old days?” She said, with eyebrow raised, “they were the old days, they weren’t  necessarily the Good old days.”

My Grandma spoke as the woman who chased down the chicken, wrung it’s neck, picked the veggies, baked the bread, cooked the food, cleaned the kitchen, wrestled 3 kids into the wash tub,mended and made all the clothes. I think she’s an expert on staying busy while you wait.

I don’t think I ever saw my Grandmother bored or agitated waiting for something to happen. She had too much living to do to be agitated for something to happen, when it was going to happen in its own sweet time anyway.

I try to learn from Grandma. Because I don’t have to wait for the letter to get to the person and then for them to write back and them mail it back. I’ve got instant message.

Because I don’t have to wrestle a chicken to the ground…I’ve got drive thru.

No, I don’t have to hitch a horse to my wagon and go to town for a new outfit…I’ve got Amazon.

But the beautiful thing my Grandma Linebaugh possessed that I long to fully own, of hers, was no matter what she was waiting on she remembered, to live, in the mean time.

I am beginning to learn that just because we have the to power to Instant-ize any part of our lives. Time is still needed. Experiences are still necessary, the journey is still a teachable one. Sometimes things take a little longer than we wanted. But an acorn never rushes the oak that rests inside.

It’s not that our lives are taking soooo long to work out its just bigger things take a little longer than an instant message.

I sit back tonight with the trust that I want my life to be a long and enjoyable experience. If I have to wait a little while for “the good stuff” I know it’s just because it’s being aligned for the perfect time.

And like my Grandma Linebaugh always said, “It’s better to do without, at the beginning, than the ending.”

Thank you Grandma for that wisdom to wait. And another valuable lesson my Gtandma Linebaugh taught me. 

In this life if something is bothering you…just tune it out. Like she did with my Grandpa, when she got tired of hearing him ramble on about something, she just turned her hearing aid off!

Thank you for allowing me to share some of my thoughts along my journey. 

Wont you take time this evening with me to tune out what bothers you and sip some hot tea, listen to some relaxing music and give thanks….you don’t have to chase any chickens down for dinner tonight šŸ™‚

Hi We would love for you to Leave a Reply

